About Us

Established in 2011, Heating the Midwest represents more than 200 industry, government, non-profit, university and tribal organizations committed to increasing awareness, education and outreach for heating with biomass in the Midwest. We promote thermal biomass to a large constituency, including government policy makers and entities, institutions, municipalities, businesses and consumers.

What We Do
Heating the Midwest works to:

  • Increase awareness and recognition of the benefits derived from biomass thermal energy.
  • Develop clean energy policy that includes clean and efficient biomass thermal energy.
  • Grow demand for biomass-based thermal fuels and heating systems/CHP in the Midwest.
  • Support research, technology innovation and demonstration throughout the biomass thermal supply chain.
  • Expand funding opportunities and programs to support the development and installation of biomass thermal/CHP projects.

How We Operate
Heating the Midwest is driven and directed by a Steering Committee, and Action Teams carry out specific initiatives important to Heating the Midwest’s mission.

Steering Committee
With representatives from industry, universities, non-profit organizations and tribes, the Steering Committee meets monthly via teleconference to discuss current and future initiatives, including the annual conference and expo.

Leadership
President: T.J. Morice, TNT Ventures LLC (tjmorice@hotmail.com)
Vice President: Chuck Gagner, WoodMaster/Northwest Manufacturing Inc. (cgagner@woodmaster.com)
Secretary/Treasurer: Bruno Zagar, Fond du Lac Band of Lake Superior Chippewa (BrunoZagar@FDLREZ.COM)

Liaison to the Steering Committee
Brian Brashaw, US Forest Service, Forest Products Laboratory (bbrashaw@fs.fed.us)
Adam Sherman, Northeast Biomass Thermal Working Group (NEBTWG) (bbrashaw@fs.fed.us)

Members by State
Illinois
Open

Michigan
Raymond Miller, Michigan State University Extension and Michigan Statewide Energy Team (rmiller@anr.msu.edu)
William Cook, Michigan State University Extension (cookwi@anr.msu.edu)

Minnesota
Stacy Cook, Koda Energy (scook@kodaenergy.com)
Chuck Gagner, WoodMaster/Northwest Manufacturing Inc. (cgagner@woodmaster.com)
Gregg Mast, Earthtech Energy (gregg_mast@earthtechenergy.com)
Becky Philipp, Agricultural Utilization Research Institute (bphilipp@auri.org)
Bruno Zagar, Fond du Lac Band of Lake Superior Chippewa (BrunoZagar@FDLREZ.COM)

Ohio
Open

Wisconsin
T.J. Morice, TNT Ventures LLC (tjmorice@hotmail.com)
Chris Wiberg, Timber Products Inspection (cwiberg@tpinspection.com)

Federal/National
Adam Sherman, Biomass Energy Resource Center (asherman@biomasscenter.org)

Action Teams
Heating the Midwest Action Teams work on specific Heating the Midwest initiatives. They conduct meaningful research, develop information and resources, and perform outreach and engagement – all focused on expanding the knowledge and information needed to expand biomass thermal. Our current Action Teams are outlined below:

Biomass Resources and Demographics
Team Leaders: Becky Philipp, Agricultural Utilization Research Institute (bphilipp@auri.org) and Alan Doering, Agricultural Utilization Research Institute (adoering@auri.org)
Team Initiatives

Biomass Combustion Technology
Andrew Murray, Round for a Reason LLC (andrew.treeguy@gmail.com)
Team Initiatives

Biomass Policy & Benefits
Gregg Mast, Clean Energy Economy Minnesota (Gregg_mast@earthtechenergy.com)
Team Initiatives

Specifically, Heating the Midwest Action Teams exist to:

Be connectors for biomass stakeholders in the Midwest.

Assist in developing market opportunities for biomass in the Midwest.

Look for ways to reach consumers directly with Heating the Midwest’s vision and messages, especially areas of the region with the highest concentration of fuel oil and propane usage.

Identify education/outreach opportunities to increase visibility of Heating the Midwest within the stakeholder community.

Identify opportunities to work with like U.S. and European entities to develop outreach/educational materials and curriculum for schools as a means to increase knowledge of biomass heating.

If you’d like more information about Heating the Midwest’s Action Team activities, please contact the respective team leader via the email address listed above. He or she can fill you in about the team’s work, goals and offer suggestions about getting involved.

Other Teams
In addition to Action Teams, other teams form within Heating the Midwest to organize specific events and lead initiatives as they are needed. Examples are the Heating the Midwest Annual Conference Team and State Representative Teams.

Support
HTM is affiliated and engages with NEBTWG (Northeast Biomass Thermal Working Group), BTEC (Biomass Thermal Energy Council), and PFI (Pellet Fuels Institute).

btec logo   PFI logo   NEexpo logo

Many organizations and individuals have supported the mission of Heating the Midwest in various ways. Some have provided financial support by sponsoring the annual conference or making a donation, others have volunteered their time and talents to Heating the Midwest, and many have endorsed the Vision. Thank you to each and every supporting organization!